top of page

Razer BlackWidow TKL

Updated: Jul 25, 2022

After my daughter bought the cheap $25 MageGee mechanical keyboard, I also wanted to get mechanical keyboard for me. My purpose is mixed general typing (web-surfing) and gaming. Since my experience has been with stock OEM keyboards (like work PC) or Apple Wireless Keyboards, I haven't used any mechanical or LED keyboards. So I need to learn about various features. See my write up on that: https://jimmy1photo.wixsite.com/blog/post/mechanical-keyboards-journey


Unfortunately, typing on the keyboard is very personal experience. What I can gather online are info, data, and specs. How it feels or sound in person is something that I must get hands-on experience.


My Preferences


I already know I don't want full size keyboard. For ergonomics, I want my mouse to directly in front of my right elbow rest. Full size keyboard will cause mouse to sit further to the right and I have to reach for the mouse. So I wanted something like TKL (85%), because it has function keys (for gaming) and arrow keys (for quick navigation without having to remove my fingers from keyboard and use the mouse when I type). At the time, I wasn't aware of 75% keyboard, which is even smaller. I thought keyboards smaller than TKL will not have Function keys.


I already tried few keyboards and also a hands-on demo at BestBuys. I wanted a tactile switch, instead of clicky or linear. I feel tactile provides the best feedback. And I want to have low resistance, so it is easy to type and quick response for gaming. So I prefer switches like Cherry MX Brown.


By the way, there is one additional parameter that is important for gaming keyboard, and that is latency, which is time from activating the keystroke to keyboard registering the key press and send info to computer. Rtings measures that latency. If you interested, check out Rtings review and data. To me, the difference between keyboards is minimal (1 to 20 millisec) compared to my own reaction time (180-220 millisec). Latency is not important to me as casual gamer.


I started by checking out mass consumer gaming keyboards. And since I'm cost conscious, I look for value. I'm not necessarily looking for the cheapest. I'm looking for best balance between performance/features vs cost; so biggest bang for the buck. After checking out Razer, HyperX, Corsair, Logitech, I decided on Razer BlackWidow TKL. At $100, it is not the cheapest, but also not expensive compared to other mechanical keyboards at $150-$200.


Razer BlackWidow TKL

Razer BlackWidow TKL has LED lighting with 16.8 million RGB colors; double-shot ABS keycaps; LED lit (or shine thru) keycaps; detachable cable; included wrist rest. 3 switch types are offered: Green (Tactile & Clicky), Orange (Tactile & Silent), and Yellow Switches (Linear & Silent). The switches are not hot-swappable or user replaceable.


Check Razer BlackWidow TKL V2 TKL on Amazon: https://amzn.to/3RWb0xB


Check Razer BlackWidow V3 TKL on Amazon: https://amzn.to/3oomKeI

Feel


I got the Orange switches, which is most similar to my preference for Mx Brown. Razer called this Tactile and Silent. It is definitely tactile, and I can feel that. However, it is not silent. It is not as loud as clicky switches, but it is definitely louder than linear switches. Here is what I found online on specs for Razer switches:

Razer

Feel / Sound

Actuation Force (g)

Bottom-Out Force (g)

Actuation Distance (mm)

Travel Distance (mm)

Green

Tactile & Clicky

50

65

1.9

4.0

Orange

Tactile & Silent

45

55

1.9

4.0

Yellow

Linear & Silent

45

75

1.2

3.5

The typing experience is what I expect of mass consumer mechanical keyboard. The keyboard feedback is quite stiff. There is a high pitched, hollow feedback. Typing sounds more click/clack and less thocc (or thock). Some of the large keys (like Spacebar, Shift, Enter are a bit jiggly). The switches are a bit scratchy, because it is not lubed. It depends on your preference. If you like clicky and high pitched key clicks, this keyboard provides that. If you like thocc, then this keyboard is not for you.


Build


This is mixed. Razer BlackWidow TKL is quite heavy (1002 gram or 2.21 lbs), which is positive. From the weight, I would expect solid build. However, keyboard top and bottom exterior is made of thin to medium plastic. Plastic top flexes and squeaks when I press down on the edge of the keyboard. This is a bit surprising. I suspect the weight of the keyboard is not from the case or exterior. Most likely Razer purposely added weights inside the keyboard.


Wrist Rest


This is also mixed. The plus is wrist rest is included with keyboard. Most other keyboards in this price range do not include wrist rest, which cost $20-$30 to buy separately. However, the wrist rest is not well made nor very functional. It is made of really cheap plastic casing/bottom. The wrist rest padding is very light cushion, instead of heavier foam. The wrist rest snaps to the keyboard using magnet. The edge of the wrist rest tapers off to no padding with plastic trim that is around 1/4 inch wide. The wrist rest is exactly the width of the keyboard. In natural typing position, my left wrist lying over the plastic trim at edge and there is no padding or support.


Software


This is a big positive. Software is professionally done. It allows a lot of user customization. Not only LED, but also key related features. There are macros. Key actions can be replaced or disabled. For instance, I hate the Insert key; Razer software can easily disable or remap this key. Many profiles can be saved. If you own other Razer products, software can control LED themes across multiple Razer devices. In addition, software also can automatically change to a theme based on activity. For instance, you can have red colored LED theme if you launch Apex Legend; blue colored LED theme for Fortnite; rainbow them if you listen to music; etc.


In comparison, software from many other smaller brands do not look nearly as polished; features are typically limited to LED control only; and cannot change key functions.


Keyboard Issue


Unfortunately, I did run into an issue, with double register of the U key. 99% of time, everything is fine. Then intermittently, letter U will register twice - 2 U's (e.g. uu). Luckily, I noticed this defect early on and was able to return the product. If I look at the 1-star reviews on Amazon, many are reporting similar issue, with multiple/repeat/duplicate/stuck keys. Although 1-star reviews is only 5% of total rating, that is still significant number of users having key issue.


Question is whether this problem is due to firmware, defective hardware switches, or combination of both issues. Based on online forums, it can be due to firmware; the reset time between key presses can be too short. When one key press is registered, the firmware sets a delay to prevent registration of next key stroke. Another potential root cause can be defect in the switch itself. This keyboard switches are soldered, so not hot swappabble. And it can be a combination of the two. When issue exists, it is typically to the same key. In my case, it is U key. So the suspect key might physically take too long to reset and is outside the firmware timeout period, cause keyboard to falsely detect 2 presses with single key press.


Note that at the time I purchased BlackWidow TKL, there were 2 versions. Older version was V2; and new version V3 just came out. At that time, pricing for V2 was cheaper. So I had a decision to make. Do I return this keyboard and buy another V2 to see if issue is keyboard dependent? Or do I go with V3, which might have fixed this problem?


I decided I will not get another V2 keyboard. If this problem is intermittent and gets worse over time, then I might not see the problem immediately and it might occur later outside the warranty period. It would be too frustrating if that occurs. As for V3, Razer made the decision for me. V3 only comes with option for 2 switches: Green (Tactile & Clicky) and Yellow (Linear & Silent). Orange (Tactile & Silent) in is not available in v3. Later, when I look at Amazon reviews for V3, people reported that double registering of keys is fixed in V3 thru firmware update.


Comparisons


Since Razer BlackWidow TKL, I have purchased and now own 2 more entry-level mechanical keyboards: Glorious GMMK TKL and Epomaker TH80 75%. Here is comparison of the 3 keyboards:

​

Razer BlackWidow TKL

GMMK TKL

Epomaker TH80

Weight

1002 g

790 g

1024 g

Keycaps

Double-Shot ABS

Standard Thickness

Shine-Thru Legends

OEM Profile

Double-Shot ABS

Standard Thickness

Shine-Thru Legends

OEM Profile

PBT

Extra Thick

No Shine Thru

MDA Profile

Switches

Razer (Worst)

Gateron (Medium)

Gateron Pro (Best)

PCB

​Not Swappable

North Facing

Hot Swappable

North Facing

3-pin

Hot Swappable

South Facing

3- or 5-pin

Feel (Thocc)

Hollow

Medium

Thocc

Build

Medium

Best

Medium

LED

Medium

Best

Worst

Software

Best

Medium

Worst

Summary


My taked is Razer BlackWidow TKL does not provide as much value (or bang for buck) as some smaller Chinese brand keyboards.


I would consider Razer BlackWidow TKL, if the following are important to you. Software to support LED functions, macros, and remap key functions. You have other Razer products and want coordinated and integrated LED color lighting. You want the safety of buying from large brand, with good online documentation, software support, and possibly future software and firmware support.


Between V2 and V3, I recommend getting V3. It is a newer keyboard. And the double registering of keys is supposedly fix thru firmware update. The only reason I would consider V2 is for the Orange (Tactile & Silent) switches. Or if V2 prices are much lower than V3, which is not the case currently. And another advantage of V2 is the USB cable is detachable, whereas V3 is not. If you do end up getting V2, definitely check out all keys to make sure there are no key issues (double registering, multiple, repeat, duplicate, or stuck keys).


Check Razer BlackWidow TKL V2 TKL on Amazon: https://amzn.to/3RWb0xB


Check Razer BlackWidow V3 TKL on Amazon: https://amzn.to/3oomKeI


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page